Upcoming Schedule of In-Person Events

Dec. 5-7, 2022
Rome, Italy
“Conference on Pope Francis & Gospel Nonviolence,”
www.paxchristi.net 
 
Jan. 18, 2023
Mount Saint Mary House of Prayer, Watchung, NJ
“Nonviolence: A Zoom Conversation,”
www.msmhope.org
 

March 9, 2023
Palm Desert, CA
“Following the Nonviolent Jesus,”
St. Margaret’s Church, contact: jackieconley727@gmail.com

John Dear’s 2024 Speaking Schedule:

Thursday, Jan. 11th, Monterey, CA
San Carlos Cathedral Parish hall, 7:00 p.m.  www.Sancarloscathedral.org
Contact: Andrew Bear, 1andrewbear@gmail.com  – 408-341-5461

Saturday, Jan. 13th, Corte Madera, Marin, CA
Book Passage Bookstore, 4:00 p.m.
Contact: Cheryl Bronstein, events@bookpassage.com415-927-0960

Thursday, Jan. 18th, Portland, OR
Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, www.trinity-episcopal.org
Contact: Fumi Tosu, fumi@dandelionhouse.org, or ftosu@me.com, or ftosu@mac.com – 408-910-7074

Friday, Jan. 19th, Bellevue, WA
St. Mary on the Lake Peace & Spirituality Center,  www.csjp.org/psc 1663 Killarney Way, Bellevue. 6:00 p.m.
Contact: Sarah Bailey,  sbailey@csjp-olp.org  425-635-3600.

 

Sunday, Jan. 21st, San Francisco, CA
9:30-10:30 am, “The Forum,” In Conversation with Dean Malcolm Young, 11-12:15, Preaching during the worship service.
Contact: Rebecca, Rebeccan@gracecathedral.org – 415-749-6355

Saturday, Jan. 27th, Berkeley, CA
UC Berkeley Newman Center/Holy Spirit Parish, 2700 Dwight Way, Pax Christi event: 9:30 a.m.-noon
Contact: Dennise Burgess, denniseburgess@gmail.com – 510-303-9767

Monday, Jan. 29th, San Luis Obispo, CA
Rotary Club Luncheon,  Madonna Inn
100 Madonna Rd., noon, www.slorotary.org  

Wednesday, Jan. 31st, Palm Desert, CA
St. Margaret’s Church, 47535 Hwy. 74 – 7:00 pm
Contact:  Dave Berghof, dewi1944@gmail.com

Thursday, Feb. 1st, Phoenix, AZ
Franciscan Renewal Center, www.thecasa.org 5802 E. Lincoln Dr., Scottsdale – 7:00 p.m.
Contact: Charlie Brown, charlie@thecasa.org – 480-948-7460. Also, Mark Klym – 602-799-4572

 

Saturday, Feb. 3rd, Albuquerque, NM
St. John XXIII Catholic church, with Archbishop John Wester – 10 a.m. www.johnxxiiicc.org 4831 Tramway Ridge Dr., NE,  Albuquerque, NM
Contact: Judy Traeger, judyetraeger@gmail.com – 505-974-1248

Sunday, Feb. 4th, Santa Fe, NM
First Presbyterian church, 208 Grant Ave.
(off the plaza), www.fpcsantafe.org  preach at 10 a.m. worship service, followed by book event at 1:00 pm.
Contact: Rev. Harry Eberts, harry@fpcsantafe.org – 505-982-8544

Saturday, Feb. 24th, Los Angeles, CA
St. Paul the Apostle Church, 10750 Ohio Ave,. LA, 
www.sp-apostle.org, 11 a.m.
Contact: Fr. Gilbert Martinez, CSP.  gmartinez@sp-apostle.org310-474-1527

Thursday, Feb. 29th, Tulsa/Edmond, OK
Disciples of Christ Church, www.edmondtrinity.org
Contact: Don Heath, donheathjr@sbcglobal.net – 405-348-8019

Saturday, March 2nd, Kansas City, MO
St. Therese the Little Flower Church, 5814 Euclid Ave., 10 a.m. to noon.
Contact: Mike Matteuzzi, mmatteuzzi@ma2zlaw.com816-550-4710.

Sunday, March 3rd, Coralville, Iowa (near Iowa City)
St. Thomas More Church, 3000 12th Ave., 6:00 pm social, 7:00 event
Contact: Fr. Church Adams, adamc@diodav.org, and Lee Mickey, evalee@southslope.net

Thursday, March 7th, Hickory Hills, South Chicago, IL
St. Patricia Catholic Church, 9080 S. 86th Ave. – 6:30 p.m.
Contact: Fr. Mike Meany, frmeany@stpatriciaparish.com – 708-710-8271

Friday, March 8th , Woodridge/Chicago, IL
Christ the Servant Church, 8700 Havens Dr., Woodridge, IL 60517.  www.ctswoodridge.org, 630-910-0770. 7:00 pm.
Contact: Karen Jackson, kajackson15@gmail.com – 630-969-7644

Saturday, March 9th, Chicago, IL
Cenacle Sisters Retreat Center, 3800 West Peterson Ave., 1:00 p.m. www.cenaclesisters.org/ministry/retreats-programs
Contact: Mark Piper, mpiper@cenaclesisters.org – 773-343-9131.

Sunday, March 10th, Chicago, IL
Saint Sabina Catholic church, with Fr. Mike Pfleger, 1210 West 78th Place, www.saintsabina.org preach at 10 a.m. Mass, followed by book event.
Contact church:  773-483-4300

Monday, March 11th, Oak Park, IL
St. Giles Catholic church, 1025 Colombian Ave, (Chicago). 
Contact: Dr. Marci Madary, mmadary@stgilesparish.org 708-383-3430, ext. 404.

Tuesday, March 12th, San Antonio, Texas
University of the Incarnate Word, Student Engagement Center Ballroom, 7 pm.
Contacts: Sr. Martha Ann Kirk, kirk@uiwtx.ed and Arthur Dawes, arthurdawes@att.net – 210-213-5919

Wednesday, March 13th, Austin, Texas
St. James Episcopal Church, 1941 Webberville Rd., www.stjamesaustin.org
Contact: Rev. Eileen O’Brien, rector@stjamesaustin.org – 202-716-9055

Thursday, March 14th, Birmingham, Alabama
Baptist Church of the Covenant, 2117 University Ave., 7 pm.
Contact: Shelley Douglass, shelleymdouglass@gmail.com 629-278-3124.

Saturday, March 16th, Biloxi, Mississippi
Our Lady of Fatima Parish, www.olfatima-biloxi.com, 2090 Pass Rd. – 10 a.m.
Contact: Fr. Greg Barras, gregmbarras@gmail.com – 228-297-2482

Sunday, March 17th, St. Petersburg, FL
Lakewood United Church of Christ, 2601 54th Ave. South. www.lakewooducc.org
Contact: Pastor Kim Wells, wells.kim.p@gmail.com 727-867-7961

Wednesday, April 3rd, Springfield, MA
Springfield College, 263 Alden Road, www.springfield.edu
Contact: David McMahon, dmcmahon@springfieldcollege.edu – 413-748-3210

Thursday April 4th, Binghamton, NY
St. Francis of Assisi Church, 1049 Chenango St., www.stfrancisbing.org
Contact: Rev. Tim Taugher, taughertim@hotmail.com – 607-722-4388

Friday, April 5th, Erie, PA
Mt. St. Benedict, Benedictine Sisters, 6101 East Lake Rd., www.eriebenedictines.org
Contact: Sr. Anne McCarthy, annemcc@benetvision.org – 814-899-0614

Sunday, April 7th, Harlem, New York City
St. Charles Borromeo Church, 211 West 141st St., Harlem, www.scbrchurch.org, 10 am Mass, preach, followed by book event
Contact: Fr. Willem Klaver, wilhelmus1960@gmail.com – 914-770-0697

Tuesday, April 9th, Lexington, KY
Holy Spirit Catholic Newman Center, Univ. of Kentucky, with Bishop John Stowe, President of Pax Christi USA, 320 Rose Lane, www.uknewman.com
Contact: Rev. Anthony McLaughlin, amclaughlin@cdlex.org – 855-255-8566, and Sr. Ellen Kehoe, ekehoe@cdlex.org

Wednesday, April 10th, Nashville, TN
Christ the King Catholic Church, 3001 Belmont Blvd, www.ctk.org
Contact: Jon Stotts, Jon.stotts@ctk-nashville.org 615-777-8910

Thursday, April 11th, Louisville, KY
7:00 pm, Passionist Earth and Spirit Center, 1924 Newburg Rd.,
CONTACT: Mark Meade, 502-272-8099, mmeade@bellarmine.edu
Sponsored by the Thomas Merton Center, See: www.merton.org/dear

Friday, April 12th, Cincinnati, OH
St. Thomas Episcopal Church, 100 Miami Ave., Terrace Park – 7:00 p.m., www.stthomasepiscopal.org
Contact: Rev. Darren Elin, darren@stthomasepiscopal.org – 513-448-7999

Sunday, April 14th, Cleveland, Ohio
Pilgrim Congregational Church, 2592 W. 14th St., 3:00 PM
Contact: Rev. Doug Horner, revdchorner@gmail.com – 216-392-5626

Tuesday, April 16th, Guelph, Canada
All Saints Lutheran Anglican church, 210 Silvercreek Parkway N., Guelph, Rev. Brian Wilker – 519-830-8084 – 7:00 p.m.
Contact: Jon Fogleman, jonanddianne@rogers.com – 519-836-2946

Wednesday, April 17th, Tiffin, Ohio
96 South Monroe Street
Contact: Sr. Paulette Schroeder at paulet1905@outlook.com

Thursday, April 18th, Syracuse, NY
St. Lucy’s Church, 432 Gifford St., www.saintlucys.org
Contact: Corrine Driscoll, cdriscoll61@icloud.com

Friday, April 19th, Pittsburgh, PA
Duquense University, 600 Forbes Ave., www.duq.edu
Contact: Sr. Barbara Finch, b.a.finch@att.net AND sisterpeace@yahoo.com412-716-9750

Sunday, April 21st, Nashville, TN
Christ Church Episcopal Cathedral, 3:30 in the afternoon, 900 Broadway, 616-255-7729, www.christcathedral.org
Contact: Christina Isbell, christinaisbell22@yahoo.com – 615-479-0229

Saturday, April 27th, Palo Alto, CA
Mitchell Park Library, Palo Alto Room, 3700 Middlefield Rd., Palo Alto CA 94303, 2-4pm.
Contact: Barbara Kent, bakent@earthlink.net – 650-704-1495

Wednesday, May 1st, Lancaster, PA
Community Mennonite Church, 328 West Orange St., www.communitymennonite.org
Contact: Brad Wolf, bradwolf1310@gmail.com – 717-468-8101

Thursday, May 2nd, Litchfield, CT
Wisdom House, 229 East Litchfield Road, 7:00 p.m, www.wisdomhouse.org
Contact: Patricia Torre, patricia@wisdomhouse.org – 860-567-3163

Friday May 3rd-Sunday, May 5th, East Stroudsburg, PA
Kirkridge Retreat Center, Weekend Retreat on the Gospel of Peace, www.kirkridge.org, 2495 Fox Gap Rd., Bangor, PA
Contact: Lydia, lydiawk@kirkridge.org – 610-588-1793

Tuesday, May 7th, Watchung, NJ
Mount St. Mary House of Prayer, 1651 US-22, Watchung – 7:00 pm, www.msmhope.org
Contact: Sr. Laura Arvin, Sr.laura@msmhope.org – 908-753-2091

Wednesday, May 8th, Boston, MA
Sacred Heart Parish, 169 Cummins Highway, Roslindale, MA
Contact: Fr. Brian Clary, revbmc@gmail.com – 617-325-3322

Thursday, May 9th, Newburyport, MA
Central Congregational Church, 14 Titcomb St.
Contact: Rev. Chris Nye, chris@centralnewburyport.org – 978-465-0533

Fri, May 10th, New York City, NY
Maryhouse Catholic Worker, 55 East Third St. – 7:00 pm, Friday night mtg

Monday, May 13th, Kalamazoo, MI
St. Thomas More Student Parish, 421 Monroe Ave., 49006. www.sttomskazoo.org Fr. Paul Redmond, frpaul@sttomskazoo.org pm
Contacts: Jerry Berrigan, jerry.berrigan@gmail.com  Tim Fallon, fallon@theclariongroup.com

Wednesday, May 15th, Washington, D.C.
Franciscan Monastery of the Holy Land, 1400 Quincy Street, NE. 7:00 pm. 
Contact: Michele Dunne, mdunne@franciscanaction.org

Saturday, May 18th, Santa Barbara, CA
Trinity Episcopal Church, 1500 State Street, www.trinitysb.org 2:00 pm.
Contact: Rev. Sarah Thomas, sthomas@trinitysb.org 805-965-7419, x105. Preach on Sunday May 19th for Pentecost at both services.

July 17-21, Mariottsville, MD (near Baltimore)
Bon Secours Retreat & Conference Center, 1525 Mariottsville Rd., www.bonsecoursrcc.org, 5 day retreat: “Following the Nonviolent Jesus: Living the Gospel of Peace, Love & Nonviolence Today”
Contact: 410-442-3146

Wednesday, August 28th, Santa Fe, NM
Upaya Zen Center, Wed. night dharma talk – 5:30 pm, www.upaya.org

 

Saturday, September 28th, Standish, Maine
St. Joseph College, 278 Whites Bridge Rd., www.sjcme.edu, day-long workshop on nonviolence, Jesus, Gospels, Gandhi, & King
Contact: Chris Fuller, cfuller@sjcme.edu – 207-893-7705

Sunday, Sept. 29th, Windham, Maine
Unity Center for Spiritual Growth, with Rev. Pat Bessey., Preach at Sunday service, followed by book event, 54 River Rd., Windham
Contact: Pat Bessey, revpatbessey@gmail.com – 757-636-8241